theefemalelucretius

story lining through poetry, pictures & music.

Black History Month: Youth Poetry

[Disclaimer: This post is about 2-3 weeks late but that is what happens when your schedule is hectic]

I was asked by my best friend to be a judge in a youth poetry competition her internship was hosting a few weeks ago. Of course, I agreed due to my love for poetry and spoken word. I was super excited to hear & visualize the vivid pictures the youth were bound to paint through their words… But it didn’t dawn on me that I actually had to judge them until I was sitting in the chair (advice: never agree to JUDGE anyone lol). It was probably one of the hardest things I had to do in a long time because you have to be fair and can easily become the bad guy. However, all in all it was a great experience and it really provided me with the inspiration I had been lacking here lately. I think that is one of the down sides when it comes to creating something, we have to constantly search for inspiration and that can be challenging. Nonetheless, I will continue to perfect my craft in literature while staying inspired. I guess what I’m trying to say is try not to let life interfere or tamper with the gifts God has given us. Just as easily as he gave them to us he can take it away. Hold on to them, appreciate them, but most importantly exercise and improve them.

Here are a few pics from the poetry competition, a few are of local Richmond talent as well!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
